Karisa Bislal – “I hope to represent my country on an international pageant stage, continue my charity work and become a lecturer.”

Photo by KYN Photography

Ethnic Background: Indian

Current Status: Medical Laboratory Technician Student

Hobbies: Dance, Modeling, Reading, mehndi, and baking

Favourite Food?

BBQ, macaroni pie, curried chicken – not together of course.

Favourite Quote:

“Be the change you want to see in the world” – M.Gandhi

Favourite Song:

I don’t have a favourite song however my favourite genre of music would definitely be soca

Favourite Celeb?

Tyra Banks would definitely be my #1 mainly because of how she helps young women with not only modelling but holistic development.

What are you really good at?

Dancing especially choreography because it allows me to express myself creatively

Pet Peeves?

Incorrect pronunciation of basic words is one of my biggest pet peeves as well as being late for events or when I have things planned.

Most memorable moment?

One of my most memorable moments would definitely be mustering the courage to ride a horse considering that I have a fear for animals.

Favourite Movie and T.V. Show?

My favourite movie would definitely be Harry Potter, however, there are many TV shows I enjoy but if I have to choose one it would be Vampire Diaries. These movies/ TV shows take me to a different place when I feel disconnected from reality.

Favourite Book?

The Cursed Child – J. Tiffany & Thorne

Your most embarrassing moment?

I was at an event, making my way to the front of the crowd and I fell, it made me more self-conscious and aware of the actions I made after. Luckily there were no serious injuries and there were people who assisted me

What is your guiltiest pleasure?

My guiltiest pleasure would definitely be binge-watching TV shows even at times when I have work or exams.

What did you want to be when you were growing up?

Growing up I was introduced to Indian dancing and I realized how much I loved it. My family used to watch a lot of Indian movies and because of this exposure, I wanted to be an Indian Dancer in a Bollywood movie.

Where would you most like to be right now?

I would love to be in Santorini, Greece on a relaxing vacation with a wonderful view of the sea.

Your Dream Job?

I always envisioned myself as an educator because I firmly believe that all children should be given a chance to reach their full potential, both academically and otherwise.

What is one thing people may be surprised to find out about you?

One thing people don’t know about me is that I really do enjoy baking, however, it’s something I enjoy doing alone.

What silly or funny thing makes you afraid or creeps you out?

Animals; doesn’t matter what kind, just animals. This fear developed as I had a traumatizing experience as a child.

How would you like to be remembered?

I would like to be remembered as a woman who is outspoken when needed to be, resilient because even though I suffered lost I emerged victoriously, and someone who is hardworking because I had to work for what I want as it was not given to me directly.

One word or phrase that describes you?

Emotionally conscious, since there are times where my emotions get the better of me and other times where it may seem as though I am emotionless.

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?

Family is very important, and I learned this at the tender age of 5 years when I lost my mother to cancer.

What’s the worst or best thing about being female?

The worst thing about being a female is the stigma attached to gender, By which women are still frowned upon especially in workplaces even though the glass ceiling is shattered there are many individuals who still look down on women. However, being a female who is involved in pageants, gives me the platform and opportunity to wholeheartedly express my opinions as a catalyst for positive change and this is the best feeling ever.

“Don’t let anyone…” Darken your light.

What motivates you?

The loss of my mother motivates me because I know that I am not the only one who experienced this loss at a young age and it makes me want to be the best version of myself.

How would you describe yourself?

Having completed Csec and Cape, I decided to continue my studies to reach my goal of being an Educator. At the age of 18 years, I won my first regional pageant in Martinique. In 2019, I also represented my country in St. Kitts where I was placed in the top five. In the future, I hope to represent my country on an international pageant stage, continue my charity work and become a lecturer.

What do you love about being a Trini?

Since we are a multicultural island, it gives me the freedom to partake in everything- from Carnival to Divali to Christmas and everything in between. It affords me the possibility to express myself differently based on the event or occasion.

What advice would you give a younger girl?

I have worked with girls who have said to me “Kari, this isn’t the life I want” and I would tell them that is okay, we can work together for you to attain a better life. Never let your past define you, it is up to us to make that change and with the right guidance and people, we can definitely make that possible.

End of Q&A

Instagram: @kari.b_official.868

PHOTOGRAPHY CREDIT: _k.y.n_photography & versatilestudiostt

Read our Disclaimer here.

What do you think?


Crystal Mahabir – “Just be true to yourself and love and accept all your flaws. YOU ARE BEAUTIFUL!!!”

Bella Sookdeo – “Invest in what makes you feel good about yourself because that’s going to be your foundation in achieving your life goals.”